CLT20 2012: Champions League T20 2012 Teams, Schedule

CLT20 2012: Champions League T20 2012 Teams, Schedule

Tags: Champions League T20 2012, CLT20 2012, Champions League T20, Champions League T20 2012

Published on: Aug 24, 2012

Posted by Rambabu

Champions League T20 2012 will be the fourth edition of the Champions League Twenty20, an international Twenty20 cricket tournament. Tournament Matches schedule start from 10th to 28th October 2012. It will be held in South Africa from 10 to 28 October 2012.

This tournament will feature a team from Pakistan for the first time. Pakistan's participation had not been considered for past seasons of the tournament due to the hostility between India and Pakistan since the 2008 Mumbai attacks.

CL T20 2012The venues are: Cape Town, Johannesburg, Centurion and Durban.

Four teams from the Indian Premier League 2012 Mumbai Indians, Kolkata Knight Riders, Chennai Super Kings and Delhi Daredevils will play the fourth edition of the Champions League T20 in South Africa.

Pool 1 teams - Hampshire(England), Sialkot Stallions (Pakistan) and Auckland Aces (New Zealand).
Pool 2 teams- Yorkshire(England), Trinidad and Tobago (West Indies) and Uva Next (Sri Lanka).

Group Stage:

The Group Stage will comprise 10 teams divided into two groups. Each group have five teams. Each side will play the other four in their group with the top two teams qualifying for the semi-finals.

Group ATeams- Kolkata Knight Riders (India), Titans (South Africa), Perth Scorchers (Australia), Delhi Daredevils (India) and Auckland Aces (New Zealand).
Group BTeams- Chennai Super Kings(India), Highveld Lions (South Africa), Sydney Sixers (Australia), Mumbai Indians(India) and Yorkshire(England),

Kolkata Knight Riders will play with Delhi Daredevils in CLT20 2012 1st match and the final of the Champions League Twenty20 will be played on October 28 at the Wanderers, Johannesburg.

For CLT20 2012 Tournament Full Matches Schedule click here.

Scorecards and Schedule

Top Players in CLT20 2012

Points Table

Teams Confirmed From below tournaments
Domestic tournament Teams from Teams
Indian Premier League 2012India 4 (Top four teams)
MiWay T20 Challenge 2011–12 South Africa 2 (Winner and runner-up)
Big Bash League 2011–12 Australia 2 (Winner and runner-up)
Caribbean Twenty20 2011–12 West Indies 1 (Top performing domestic team)
HRV Cup 2011–12 New Zealand 1 (Winner)
Faysal Bank Super Eight T20 Cup 2012 Pakistan 1 (Winner)
Friends Life T20 2012 England 2 (Winner and runner-up)
SLPL T20 2012 Sri Lanka 1 (Winner)

Qualified teams below
Team Domestic tournament Position Appearance Qualified
Perth ScorchersAustraliaBig Bash League 2011–12 Runner-up 1st21 Jan 2012
Auckland AcesNew ZealandHRV Cup 2011–12 Winner 2nd22 Jan 2012
Sydney SixersAustraliaBig Bash League 2011–12 Winner 1st22 Jan 2012
Trinidad and TobagoWest Indies Cricket BoardCaribbean Twenty20 2011–12 Winner 3rd22 Jan 2012
LionsSouth AfricaMiWay T20 Challenge 2011–12 Runner-up 2nd18 March 2012
TitansSouth AfricaMiWay T20 Challenge 2011–12 Winner 1st25 March 2012
Sialkot StallionsPakistanFaysal Bank Super Eight T20 Cup 2012 Winner 1st1 April 2012
Delhi DaredevilsIndiaIndian Premier League 2012 3rd place 2nd19 May 2012
Kolkata Knight RidersIndiaIndian Premier League 2012 Winner 2nd19 May 2012
Chennai Super KingsIndiaIndian Premier League 2012 Runner-up 3rd23 May 2012
Mumbai IndiansIndiaIndian Premier League 2012 4th place 3rd19 May 2012
HampshireEngFriends Life T20 2012 Winner 1st26 August 2012
YorkshireEngFriends Life T20 2012 Runner-up 2nd26 August 2012
Uva NextSLSLPL T20 2012 Winner 1st31st August 2012

Teams participating in the qualifying stage:
Teams Domestic tournament Position Qualified
Auckland AcesNew ZealandHRV Cup 2011–12 Winners22 Jan, 2012
Trinidad and TobagoWest Indies Cricket BoardCaribbean Twenty20 2011–12 Winners22 Jan, 2012
Sialkot StallionsPakistan2012 Faysal Bank Super Eight T20 Winners1 April, 2012
HampshireEngland2012 Friends Life t20 Winners25 Aug 2012
YorkshireEngland2012 Friends Life t20 Runners-up25 Aug, 2012
Uva NextSri Lanka2012 Sri Lanka Premier League Winners31 Aug, 2012

Related News