IND vs SA 2nd T20: Preview, Likely Playing XI, Dream 11 Prediction, Fantasy cricket tips

Tags: South Africa tour of India 2019, India vs South Africa, 2nd T20I at Mohali, Sep 18, 2019, India, South Africa

Published on: Sep 17, 2019

Scorecard | Commentary | Graphs

With the first T20 between India and South Africa at Dharamshala completely washed out due to rain, both sides will be keen to register a victory in the second match at Mohali on Wednesday as a win would ensure that the team won’t lose the three-match series.

India are back from a successful tour of West Indies, where they won all three formats, and Virat Kohli’s men would be keen to continue the winning run. South Africa, on the other hand, will be led by new skipper Quinton de Kock with Faf du Plessis rested as the Proteas look to start afresh following the World Cup debacle. This series will give many young guns in the squad a chance to prove their mettle.

Team India Analysis

The top three of Team India is decided for now with Shikhar Dhawan, Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli occupying the key slots. India will want runs from Dhawan as he has struggled in the T20 format of late. More low scores and, KL Rahul could come in as opener.

There would be a toss up between Manish Pandey and Shreyas Iyer for the number four slot. While Iyer was highly impressive in the ODIs in West Indies, Pandey is the more pedigreed hitter in the T20 format. Rishabh Pant will also be under pressure to deliver after a torrid time in West Indies.

In the bowling department, the youngsters who did well in West Indies get another chance with Jasprit Bumrah, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Mohammad Shami rested. Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini and Khaleel Ahmed should take care of the pace department. As for the spinners, all-rounder Krunal Pandya should occupy one slot while there could be a toss-up between Rahul Chahar and Washington Sundar for the second spot.

Likely Playing XI: Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Virat Kohli (captain), Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, Krunal Pandya, Rahul Chahar/Washington Sundar, Khaleel Ahmed, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini.

Team South Africa Analysis

South Africa, led by de Kock, have plenty of inexperience which will be tested in Indian conditions. As such, they would want the key men like de Kock, Kagiso Rabada and David Miller, the three experienced players in the team, to perform. Tabraiz Shamsi is expected to lead the spin department.

The Proteas had won the T20 series in India in 2015. However, that was on the back of experienced players like AB de Villiers, Faf du Plessis and Morne Morkel. The current lot has players like Rassie van der Dussen, Temba Bavuma, Junior Dala, Beuran Hendricks and Reeza Hendricks who have talent, but also have a tough act to follow.

Likely Playing XI: Quinton de Kock (captain), Reeza Hendricks, Rassie van der Dussen (vice-captain), Temba Bavuma, David Miller, Anrich Nortje, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Junior Dala

Dream 11 tips and predictions from Cricwaves for India vs South Africa 1st T20

Batsmen: Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli, Rassie van der Dussen, Reeza Hendricks, Shreyas Iyer

Wicketkeeper: Quinton de Kock

All-rounders: Krunal Pandya

Bowlers: Kagiso Rabada, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, Tabraiz Shamsi

Cricwaves Dream 11 Prediction: Rohit Sharma, Quinton de Kock, Virat Kohli, Reeza Hendricks, Rassie van der Dussen, Shreyas Iyer, Krunal Pandya, Kagiso Rabada, Navdeep Saini, Deepak Chahar, Tabraiz Shamsi

Captain: Virat Kohli

Vice Captain: Rohit Sharma

Complete Squads

India T20I Squad: Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Manish Pandey, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Krunal Pandya, Washington Sundar, Rahul Chahar, Khaleel Ahmed, Deepak Chahar, Navdeep Saini.

South Africa T20I Squad: Quinton de Kock (captain), Rassie van der Dussen (vice-captain), Temba Bavuma, Junior Dala, Bjorn Fortuin, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, David Miller, Anrich Nortje, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, George Linde.

--By Renin Wilben Albert

Related News