2022 ICC Men's T20 World Cup: Your Complete Beginner's Guide

Published on: Nov 04, 2022

The ICC World T20 is the flagship tournament for the men's T20 format, and it usually takes place every two years. The most recent edition of this prestigious event is being held in Australia between 16th October and 13th November. As the eighth instalment of the tournament, fans will watch 16 teams go head to head in 45 matches. If you're new to cricket or you just want to know more about the ICC men's T20 World Cup, keep reading for more information.

The Teams Playing In The World Cup

There are 16 teams participating in the tournament, including Australia, the host team. The participating teams include:

  • Australia
  • England
  • Afghanistan
  • India
  • Netherlands
  • Ireland
  • Scotland
  • Bangladesh
  • New Zealand
  • South Africa
  • West Indies
  • Namibia
  • Pakistan
  • Sri Lanka
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Zimbabwe

What Are The Groups?

The teams have been divided into four groups, two in the first round and two in the Super 12. The groups for the T20 world cup are as follows:

First Round

  • Group A: Netherlands, Namibia, Sri Lanka, and the United Arab Emirates
  • Group B: Zimbabwe, West Indies, Ireland, and Scotland

Super 12

  • Group 1: Australia, England, New Zealand, Afghanistan, Group A winner, and the Group B runner-up
  • Group 2: India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, South Africa, Group B winner, and the Group A runner-up

The Tournament Format

The first round of the tournament is played in a round-robin format, and each team plays every other team in their group twice, once at home and once away. The top two teams progress to the next stage alongside the runners-up. As you can see in the group layout, the winner from Group A and the runner-up from Group B will enter Group 1, whereas the winner from Group B and the runner-up from Group A will enter Group 2.

Once the Super 12 stage begins, you will see the six teams in each group play a round-robin. At the end of the stage, the top two teams from each group will progress to the semi-finals. Following on from the semi-finals, the two winning teams will face each other in the final, which will be held at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG).

How The Point System Works

The points system is very easy to understand. For each win, a team will get two points, while the losing team will get zero points. If two teams are tied, there is no result, or the game is abandoned, each team will receive one point.

Key Dates In The Tournament

The tournament takes place over two months, and there are plenty of matches to keep you entertained. But if you want to know when the most important matches take place, we've got you covered.

  • 16th October: The ICC T20 tournament commences
  • 21st October: The end of the first round
  • 22nd October: The Super 12 stage begins
  • 6th November: Conclusion of the Super 12 stage
  • 9th - 10th November: Semi-Finals
  • 13th November: Final

Both the semi-finals and the final will have reserve days to be used if the minimum number of overs required to complete a match can't be completed. For beginners, the minimum number of overs of five per side. Additionally, if the match is interrupted and there can be no further play, the reserve day will be used.

Betting On Your Favourite Team

If you've been following the tournament and you're looking to bet on your favourite team, now is the time to do so. There are a lot of different ways to bet on this tournament, from match odds to tournament odds. Match odds will let you bet on who will win the match outright, whereas tournament odds let you bet on who you think will win the entire tournament. Additionally, if you have a couple of minutes of free time and you're looking for a thrill in between matches, you could spend time playing online casino games. Some of the classic slot games are even themed if you're looking for a cricket-inspired game to play.

The Tournament Prizes

As we all know, a cricket tournament isn't just about winning the title. There are plenty of other prizes that teams will be fighting for. After the tournament, the team that wins the title will be rewarded with $1.6m (£1.4m). The runner-up will receive $800,000 (approximately £708,300), and the losing semi-finalists will be awarded $400,000 each (approximately £354,000).

The Venues

The T20 World Cup is currently being held in Australia. There are seven venues across the country being used for the matches, with the final being played in the Melbourne Cricket Ground. Here's a list of the venues that will be hosting the T20 World Cup matches:

  • Melbourne Cricket Ground
  • Adelaide Oval
  • Sydney Cricket Ground
  • The Gabba in Brisbane
  • Kardinia Park in Geelong
  • Bellerive Oval in Hobart
  • Perth Stadium

Where To Watch The T20 World Cup

The tournament will be broadcasted on TV as well as online. You can catch the key matches of the tournament on multiple platforms depending on your location.

  • Sky Sports: UK
  • Star Network: India, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan, and the Maldives
  • Hotstar and Disney+: India
  • Hotstar and Willow TV: Canada
  • PTV & ARY: Pakistan
  • Gazi TV and Rabbithole: Bangladesh
  • Fox Sports, Channel Nine and Kayo: Australia
  • Willow TV and ESPN+: USA
  • ESPN: Caribbean
  • SuperSport: Africa
  • StarHub: Singapore
  • Astro and Yupp TV: Malaysia
  • Now TV and Yupp TV: Hong Kong
  • Sky Sport: New Zealand
  • PNG Digicel: PNG, Fiji & Pacific Islands
  • Yupp TV: Rest of the World


The ICC Men's T20 World Cup is one of the biggest cricketing events in the world. The event is held once every two years, and it brings together the world's top teams in the format to compete for the title. The upcoming edition is being held in Australia, and it will be played from 16th October to 13th November. If you're already a cricket fan or you're a beginner looking to get into the sport, now is the time to start following the format and get ready for this exciting tournament.