Schedule for England’s tour of India announced; four Tests, ...

Schedule for England’s tour of India announced; four Tests, three ODIs and five T20Is to be played at three venues

Tags: England tour of India 2021, India, England

Published on: Dec 10, 2020

The itinerary for England’s upcoming tour of India has been announced. England will tour India for a full series with four Tests, three ODIs and five T20Is to be held in February-March 2021.

Owing to the COVID-19 pandemic, the tour has been restricted to three venues -- Chennai, Ahmedabad and Pune. Chennai will host the first two Tests starting from February 5 and 13. Ahmedabad will host the third and fourth Test as well as all the five T20Is.

The matches will be held at the newly-constructed Sardar Patel Motera Stadium. The third Test (day-night) will be held from February 24 (day-night) and and final one from March 4. The five T20Is are scheduled to be held from March 12 to 20.

The three ODIs will take place in Pune on March 23, 26 and 28.

Full schedule


1st Test, Chennai: February 5 to 9

2nd Test, Chennai: February 13 to 17

3rd Test, Ahmedabad (day-night): February 24 to 28

4th Test, Ahmedabad: March 4 to 8


1st T20I Ahmedabad: March 12

2nd T20I, Ahmedabad: March 14

3rd T20I, Ahmedabad: March 16

4th T20I, Ahmedabad: March 18

5th T20I, Ahmedabad: March 20


1st ODI, Pune: March 23

2nd ODI, Pune: March 26

3rd ODI, Pune: March 28

The England tour will be the first international series in India post the outbreak of COVID-19 pandemic. India are also scheduled to visit England in August-September 2021 for five Tests. The five Tests, starting from August 4, will take place at Trent Bridge, Lord's, Headingley, the Oval, and Old Trafford.

As of now, India are preparing for the four-Test series in Adelaide, which will begin with the Day-Night encounter from December 17.

India and Australia shared the spoils in the limited-overs contests with Australia clinching the ODIs and India the T20Is.

--By A Cricket Correspondent

Related News