Black Caps take on Zimbabwe tomorrow at Napier in a one-off Test

Tags: New Zealand v Zimbabwe Only Test at Napier - Jan 26-30, 2012, Zimbabwe tour of New Zealand - 2012, Luteru Ross Poutua Lote Taylor, Brendan Ross Murray Taylor

Published on: Jan 25, 2012

Scorecard | Commentary | Graphs

Preview of New Zealand Vs Zimbabwe, Only Test Match at McLean Park (Jan 26-30), The National Bank Series 2012

Minnows Zimbabwe will be playing their first overseas Test tomorrow at Napier ever since making their comeback in this format of the game only last year. The Brendan Taylor led Zimbabwe will clash with the Ross Taylor led New Zealand in the Only Test at the McLean Park in Napier. The two sides met last time in a Test Match at Bulawayo in which Zimbabwe almost scared the Kiwis in a run chase of 366. Riding on Skipper Brendan Taylor’s century, the Zimbabweans fell just 34 runs of what could have been a great upset.

The pitch for tomorrow’s Test at the McLean Park is expected to be greenish which means that it will be seamer friendly right from the word go. It could be a difficult time for the batsmen especially in the Zimbabwean team. The Kiwi batsmen might find it easy as the Zimbabwean bowling attack isn’t a world class unit. Interestingly, New Zealand are yet to win a Test at the McLean Park in Napier having hosted 9 matches here. The One-off Test against a weak Zimbabwe team on a green top could assist them in finding that maiden Test victory for New Zealand at Napier.

Ross Taylor leads New ZealandFollowing are the two squads for the New Zealand Vs Zimbabwe, Only Test at McLean Park, Napier :

New Zealand Squad : Ross Taylor (Captain), Trent Boult, Doug Bracewell, Dean Brownlie, Martin Guptill, Chris Martin, Brendon McCullum, Tim Southee, Daniel Vettori, Kruger van Wyk (Wicket Keeper), BJ Watling (Wicket Keeper), Kane Williamson and Sam Wells

Zimbabwe Squad : Brendan Taylor (Captain), Regis Chakabva, Elton Chigumbura, Graeme Cremer (Test only), Kyle Jarvis, Hamilton Masakadza, Shingirai Masakadza, Stuart Matsikenyeri, Tinotenda Mawoyo, Keegan Meth, Forster Mutizwa, Raymond Price, Tatenda Taibu (Wicket Keeper), Brian Vitori and Malcolm Waller

Related News