Flashback: World T20 champions – Part III

Tags: ICC World T20 - 2010, England, Australia

Published on: Mar 14, 2014

As teams prepare to battle it out in the latest edition of the ICC World T20 championships, we look back at the past champions in the event.

As teams prepare to battle it out in the latest edition of the ICC World T20 championships, we look back at the past champions in the event. In the third part of our series, we look at 2010 champions England.


The 2010 ICC World T20, which was the 3rd edition of the much-hyped event, was held in West Indies from April 30-May 16. A total of 12 teams featured in the event and were divided into four groups. Group A had Pakistan, Bangladesh, Australia, Group B included Sri Lanka, New Zealand, Zimbabwe, Group C featured South Africa, India, Afghanistan and Group D comprised West Indies, England and Ireland.

Group stages

The series began on an inauspicious note for England as went down to the West Indies by 8 wickets. Batting first, England piled up 191 courtesy Eoin Morgan’s 55 and Luke Wright’s unbeaten 45. Heavy rain reduced West Indies’ target to 60 runs from 6 overs, and they achieved the same, led by Chris Gayle’s 12-ball 25. England managed only 120 in their match against Ireland, but shared points after the match was rained out. England however managed to progress without having won a game.

Super 8s

England defeated Pakistan in their first Super 8s encounter by six wickets. Bowling first, England kept Pakistan to 147 for 9 with Sidebottom, Broad and Michael Yardy claiming two wickets each. England’s reply was led by Pietersen, who smashed an unbeaten 73 from 52 balls. In a big surprise, England also got the better of their superior opponents South Africa. Pietersen again starred with 53 off 33 balls as England posted 168 for 7 batting first. Sidebottom and Swann then claimed three wickets each as England cleaned up the Proteas for 129.

England completed a clean sweep of the Super 8s by defeating New Zealand as well. The Kiwis batted first and were kept down to 149 for 6, Broad and Swann starring with two wickets apiece. England’s reply featured good cameos from Eoin Morgan (40) and Michael Lumb (32) as they scampered home to a three-wicket win.

Semi-finals and finals

England took on strong opponents Sri Lanka in the semi-final at St Lucia. Bowling first, England restricted the Lankans to 128 for 6 in spite of a half-century from Angelo Mathews. Broad was the star with two wickets. Pietersen once again was the man for England with an unbeaten 42 from 26 balls. Kieswetter and Lumb chipped in with 30s.

The final was held between old rivals England and Australia at Barbados, but this time in the T20 format. Australia batted first, but were kept down to 147 for 6. David Hussey top scored for Australia with 59 while Sidebottom claimed two wickets for England. The response from Paul Collingwood’s men was meticulous. Opener Kieswetter made 63 from 49 balls to set up the chase while Pietersen contributed 47 from 31 balls as England won the title match by seven wickets.

Kieswetter was declared the man of the final, and Pietersen man of the series.

--By A Cricket Analyst

Related News