Rajasthan Royals prevail in high scoring contest over Deccan Chargers!

Tags: Indian Premier League - 2012, Rajasthan Royals Vs Deccan Chargers 20th Match at Jaipur - Apr 17, 2012, Bradley John Hodge, Rahul Sharad Dravid, Ajinkya Madhukar Rahane, Jean-Paul Duminy, Shikhar Dhawan, Kumar Chokshanada Sangakkara

Published on: Apr 17, 2012

Scorecard | Commentary | Graphs

DLF IPL 2012: Rajasthan Royals defeated Deccan Chargers by 5 wickets in Match 20 at Sawai Mansingh Stadium, Jaipur

Rajasthan Royals pulled off an incredible run chase at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur to down the Deccan Chargers. The hosts chased down the high target of 197 losing three wickets and with a couple of balls to spare. The match went to the wire with 25 runs needed from 2 overs. Australian veteran Brad Hodge came good for the homeside to take them victory with an unbeaten cameo of 48 from 21 balls with 6 fours and 2 sixes. Dishant Yagnik hit a couple of crucial boundaries in a row off Dale Steyn in the final over to wrap up the match in style.

The run chase was nicely set up by a breezy opening start of 62 in 5.5 overs with Rahul Dravid scoring 42 from 24 balls with 7 fours and a six. Orange Cap holder Ajinkya Rahane under pressure was brilliant with his 44 from 31 balls with 5 fours and a six. Owais Shah for once missed out but gave the opportunity to the other overseas batsman Brad Hodge to be the match winner for the Royals. Brad Hode got the Man of the Match award.

Bard Hodge sealed the run chase for Rajasthan RoyalsThe Deccan Chargers messed up in the field by dropping crucial catches which didn’t help their cause in defending the total of 196.

DC leave Royals with a daunting target of 197

Deccan Chargers look good for a win over Rajasthan Royals after piling up a huge total of 196 for 2. The pitch at Jaipur is an absolute beauty though with nothing to help the bowlers.

The Chargers got off to a lovely start of 94 in 10.4 overs with Skipper Kumar Sangakkara scoring 44 from 32 balls with 5 fours and a six. His partner Shikhar Dhawan scored 52 from 43 balls with 8 fours. The finishing touches to the DC innings came from Daniel Christian (29* from 19 balls with 2 fours and a six) and JP Duminy (58* from 26 balls with 3 fours and 5 sixes).

Toss and Teams: Deccan Chargers have won the toss and elected to bat first against hosts Rajasthan Royals at the Sawai Mansingh Stadium in Jaipur.

The homeside have made one change with Wicket Keeper Dishant Yagnik replacing fellow Wicket Keeper Shreevats Goswami. Deccan Chargers have brought in JP Duminy in the place of Cameron White along with a couple of other changes.

Rajasthan Royals: AM Rahane, R Dravid (Captain), OA Shah, BJ Hodge, AL Menaria, DH Yagnik (Wicket Keeper), J Botha, GB Hogg, A Singh, SK Trivedi, Pankaj Singh

Deccan Chargers: B Chipli, S Dhawan, T Mishra, DT Christian, KC Sangakkara (Captain and Wicket Keeper), JP Duminy, AA Jhunjhunwala, Ankit Sharma, A Mishra, DW Steyn, Anand Rajan

Related News