India knocked out by hosts!

Tags: WI v IND 19th Match at Bridgetown - May 9, 2010, West Indies, India, ICC World T20 - 2010, Christopher Henry Gayle, Mahendra Singh Dhoni

Published on: May 09, 2010

Scorecard | Commentary | Graphs

West Indies defeated India by 14 runs after restricting them to 155 for 9 in a chase of 170.

India Innings

West Indies defeated India by 14 runs after restricting them to 155 for 9 in a chase of 170. With this defeat, it's the end of India in this ICC World T20 2010 though they have one more match to play against Sri Lanka which is nothing more than a formality! This victory for the West Indies was set up by the onslaught from Gayle and his bowlers simple bounced out the Indian batsmen on a responsive pitch! Chris Gayle got himself the Man of the Match for his knock of 98.

It was again the rising deliveries that caused the downfall of the glamorous Indian batsmen. Both the openers were back in the dug out inside five overs with the score crawling to less than 30. Last match hero Rohit Sharma got out in a controversial manner, given caught off the forearm in a horrendous scoop shot. Rohit created drama by questioning the onfield Umpire's decision and quite stupidly asking him to refer it to the TV Umpire! The Indian innings seemed to be getting on track through Suresh Raina (32 from 25 balls with 4 fours and a six) and Yuvraj Singh but both of them didn't last enough distance to make any serious impact.

The match was as good as over in the 13th over when Yuvraj Singh slogged Benn low to mid wicket with the score down to 81 for 5. It needed a miracle from this stage for an Indian win though there were a couple of promising sixes from Yusuf Pathan followed up by another couple of them from Skipper MS Dhoni. However, the short ball again did the trick for West Indies with Yusuf Pathan hooking into the hands of square fine leg to leave an enormous task on MSD's shoulders.

India needed 45 to get from three overs and the final nail in the coffin was hit when MS Dhoni (29 from 18 balls) got run out by a brilliant direct throw from Bravo at straight long on.

West Indies Innings

India has been set a daunting target of 170 for a win against West Indies to stay alive in the tournament. After a slightly cautious start, Chris Gayle opened up his broad shoulders to literally murder the thin Indian bowling attack. Once again Harbhajan Singh was outstanding and was really untouchable by the batsmen as he conceded just the 16 runs in his 4 overs. India would thank its stars that West Indies could get only 169 for 6 in the end thanks to Nehra's super last over which cost only six runs! Ashish Nehra finished with 3 for 35 in his 4 overs.

The hero of the West Indian innings was the Skipper Chris Gayle who sadly got run out on 98 with his bat hanging in the air over the crease in a desperate attempt to get a second run in the final over. Gayle batted out 66 balls and struck 5 fours and as many as 7 sixes. Atleast a couple of sixes from Gayle landed over the roof of the stadium! It was a one-man show from Chris Gayle with the second highest scorer being his opening partner Shiv Chanderpaul who made only 23.

It was yet another rough day for the young Ravindra Jadeja as he put down a simple catch early in the innings at short fine leg and followed it up with two costly overs that went for 27 though he got the consolation wicket of no.3 Darren Sammy. India had a bad day in the field with atleast one more catch being put down by MS Dhoni off a skier from Gayle. Dhoni had collided with Yusuf Pathan while trying to run and take the catch towards squareleg.

West Indies are the favourites to win this match but they could have got around 185 looking at the way Gayle and in the end Pollard (17 from 11 balls with two sixes) were clobbering the ball.

Toss and Teams

India has won the toss and asked hosts West Indies to bat first in a do-or-die match for both the sides in this tournament! The winner of this match has one more chance of entering the Semis while the loser is certainly knocked out. The match is off to a delayed start by 30 minutes due to overnight rain. The pitch is expected to have some moisture to interest the seamers and the spinners. So its a good toss to win as far as MS Dhoni is concerned.

West Indies have dropped Andre Fletcher and have brought back the specialist wicket keeper Denesh Ramdin. India has retained the same side that took a pounding from Australia.

West Indies : Chris Gayle (C), Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Ramnaresh Sarwan, Dwayne Bravo, Kieron Pollard, Wavell Hinds, Denesh Ramdin( WK), Darren Sammy, Jerome Taylor, Sulieman Benn and Kemar Roach

India : Gautam Gambhir, Murali Vijay, Suresh Raina, Yuvraj Singh, MS Dhoni (C&WK), Rohit Sharma, Yusuf Pathan, Ravindra Jadeja, Harbhajan Singh, Zaheer Khan and Ashish Nehra

Related News