New Zealand Squad for Pak Series: Young replaces Hopkins for Test's

Tags: Pakistan Tour of New Zealand - 2010-11, New Zealand, Pakistan, Reece Alan Young, Gareth James Hopkins, Team Squad

Published on: Dec 22, 2010

Wellington: Uncapped wicketkeeper Reece Young was the only newcomer named on Wednesday in New Zealand's team for the upcoming two-Test series against Pakistan.

Wellington: Uncapped wicketkeeper Reece Young was the only newcomer named on Wednesday in New Zealand's team for the upcoming two-Test series against Pakistan.

Young replaced Gareth Hopkins, who had been New Zealand's preferred keeper since Brendon McCullum relinquished the gloves to play as a specialist batsman.

Young has been in strong form for Auckland province in New Zealand domestic competitions while Hopkins failed with the bat during New Zealand's recent three-Test series in India.

New Zealand named a number of untried players for the three-game Twenty20 series against Pakistan starting from Sunday.

New Zealand is looking to the Pakistan series to arrest its current form slump. A 4-0 series loss in Bangladesh and 5-0 loss in India in recent months stretched New Zealand's losing streak in one-day internationals to 11 matches, just short of its record streak of 13 games in the mid 1990s.

New Zealand Cricket reacted this week by appointing former New Zealand opening batsman and India coach John Wright as coach in place of Mark Greatbatch.

The incoming coach hinted at personnel changes but the selection panel, under Greatbatch, had elected to be be conservative for the Test series starting Jan. 7.

"We have kept faith with the majority of the squad who performed well in the Test matches against India and are wanting to build on the positive steps the team took in that series," Greatbatch said. New Zealand lost the three-match Test series against India 1-0.

"One new face is wicketkeeper Reece Young who gets a chance after performing well over a number of seasons at domestic and NZA level. It's disappointing for Gareth Hopkins who misses out on selection.

"Jeetan Patel and B.J. Watling are the other players who were part of the larger squad in India not to make this group."

New Zealand will use the Twenty20 series to blood new players.

Captain Daniel Vettori will miss the series with a back injury while McCullum has been named despite fitness concerns. Ross Taylor will captain the Twenty20 squad, leading a team including newcomers Dean Brownlie, Luke Woodcock and Adam Milne.

"Dean Brownlie and Luke Woodcock have both enjoyed very good domestic form over the last couple of seasons and richly deserve their opportunity," Greatbatch said.

"Adam Milne is a promising young bowler and this is we are keen to give him some early exposure in international cricket."

Greatbatch said Vettori and McCullum's fitness was being closely watched.

"Brendon is keen to play and we are monitoring his recovery closely," he said. "He will undergo fitness testing later this week and we will make a call on closer to the start of the match.

"Daniel Vettori is making good progress but back issue requires ongoing management. As such, he will not take part in the Twenty20 series to give him time to recover and he is expected to be fully fit for the Test series starting on Jan. 7."

New Zealand squads:

Test squad: Daniel Vettori (captain), Brent Arnel, James Franklin, Martin Guptill, Chris Martin, Brendon McCullum, Andy McKay, Tim McIntosh, Jesse Ryder, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Kane Williamson, Reece Young.

Twenty20 squad: Ross Taylor (captain), Dean Brownlie, Ian Butler, James Franklin, Martin Guptill, Brendon McCullum, Nathan McCullum, Peter McGlashan, Kyle Mills, Adam Milne, Jesse Ryder, Tim Southee, Scott Styris, Luke Woodcock.

Related News