Schedule for first two weeks of IPL 2024 announced, CSK to meet RCB in opener

Tags: IPL 2024, tournament schedule

Published on: Feb 24, 2024

The Board of Control for Cricket in India on Thursday, February 22, announced the schedule for the first two weeks of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2024. The tournament will begin on March 22 and the schedule has been announced till April 7. The remaining schedule is likely to be out after the dates of general elections in India are announced.

During the first two weeks, 21 matches will be played across three cities, with each team playing a minimum of three matches and a maximum of five. IPL 2024 will get underway with a clash between Chennai Super Kings (CSK) and Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) at Chepauk in Chennai on March 22. The first weekend will have two double headers, with Punjab Kings (PBKS) taking on Delhi Capitals (DC) on March 23 afternoon, followed by the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) clashing with Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) in the evening.

On March 24, Rajasthan Royals (RR) will host the Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) in Jaipur, while Gujarat Titans (GT), 2022 winners and 2023 runners-up will take on the Mumbai Indians (MI). Delhi Capitals (DC) will host their first two home games in Visakhapatnam. They will face Chennai Super Kings on March 31 and then Kolkata Knight Riders on April 3.

While revealing the schedule for the first two weeks of IPL 2024, an official IPL release stated that the BCCI will work closely with government and security agencies, following all necessary protocols and advisories related to the upcoming Lok Sabha Elections in India.

“Once the dates for the 18th Lok Sabha elections are announced, the Board will review and address any issues pertaining to the schedule of the first two weeks. Subsequently, the BCCI will work in tandem with local authorities to finalize the schedule for the remainder of the season, taking into account the polling dates,” the BCCI release added.

IPL 2024 schedule for first two weeks

March 22: CSK vs RCB in Chennai

March 23: PBKS vs DC in Mohali

March 23: KKR vs SRH in Kolkata

March 24: RR vs LSG in Jaipur

March 24: GT vs MI in Ahmedabad

March 25: RCB vs PBKS in Bengaluru

March 26: CSK vs GT in Chennai

March 27: SRH vs MI in Hyderabad

March 28: RR vs DC in Jaipur

March 29: RCB vs KKR in Bengaluru

March 30: LSG vs PBKS in Lucknow

March 31: GT vs SRH in Ahmedabad

March 31: DC vs CSK in Visakhapatnam

April 1: MI vs RR in Mumbai

April 2: RCB vs LSG in Bengaluru

April 3: DC vs KKR in Visakhapatnam

April 4: GT vs PBKS in Ahmedabad

April 5: SRH vs CSK in Hyderabad

April 6: RR vs RCB in Jaipur

April 7: MI vs DC in Mumbai

April 7: LSG vs GT in Lucknow

--By A Cricket Correspondent

Related News