Sachin Tendulkar retained; Sehwag, Zaheer omitted in India’s Asia Cup Squad

Tags: Asia Cup - 2012, Sachin Ramesh Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag, Zaheer Khan

Published on: Feb 29, 2012

News Update on India Squad for the Asia Cup 2012 in Bangladesh

The National Selectors under Krish Srikkanth have surprisingly retained Sachin Tendulkar in the Indian Squad for next month’s Asia Cup in Bangladesh. Tendulkar who had played poorly in the ongoing CB Series has been facing severe criticism that he was in the One Day team only to complete the so-called 100th international century.

Tendulkar could have been given another opportunity by the BCCI and the Selectors to score a century on batsman friendly pitches in Bangladesh. It would be interesting to see if the 37-year-old Tendulkar will play in the Asia Cup if India manages to get into the CB Series Finals and if the veteran does get to score his 100th century in that by chance!

Sachin TendulkarThe Selectors have omitted four players from the CB Series squad in Australia. The four players are Virender Sehwag, Zaheer Khan, Umesh Yadav and Parthiv Patel. The Selectors have stated that Sehwag, Zaheer and Umesh Yadav have been rested on fitness grounds after consultation with the Indian team physiotherapist. The stress was on to say that the three players were not dropped according to the National Selectors. Meanwhile in the absence of Sehwag, the Selectors have named Virat Kohli as the Vice-Captain following yesterday’s brilliant match-winning century at Hobart. The Selectors have clearly hinted that they are having eye on Virat Kohli to lead India in the future!

Making their way back into the side are ferocious hitter Yusuf Pathan and wiry Bengal fast bowler Ashok Dinda. There is no doubt that the conditions in Bangladesh and the spin-oriented attack from all the sides in the Asia Cup will perfectly suit Yusuf Pathan’s batting style. Ashok Dinda forces his way back into the Indian team following some strong performances in the domestic matches.

Following is India’s 15-man Squad for the Asia Cup 2012 : M S Dhoni (Captain), Virat Kohli (Vice-Captain), Sachin Tendulkar, Gautam Gambhir, Rohit Sharma, Suresh Raina, Ravindra Jadeja, R Ashwin, Praveen Kumar, R Vinay Kumar, Rahul Sharma, Yusuf Pathan, Manoj Tiwary, Irfan Pathan and Ashok Dinda

Why do you think the Selectors retained Tendulkar despite his poor scores in the CB Series?
News Update on India Squad for the Asia Cup 2012 in Bangladesh.
· · · 16 hours ago ·

Related News