Gambhir, Balaji deliver KKR with their maiden win in IPL 5

Tags: Royal Challengers Bangalore Vs Kolkata Knight 10th Match at Bangalore - Apr 10, 2012, Indian Premier League - 2012, Gautam Gambhir, Lakshmipathy Balaji

Published on: Apr 10, 2012

Scorecard | Commentary | Graphs

DLF IPL 2012: Royal Challengers Bangalore Vs Kolkata Knight Riders, Match 10 at M Chinnaswamy Stadium, Bengaluru, Match Highlights

Superb fast bowling with the new ball from Brett Lee and Jacques Kallis set up a comprehensive 42-run victory for Kolkata Knight Riders over hosts Royal Challengers Bangalore. L Balaji complemented the hostile opening spell from Lee and Kallis by coming up with a superb spell of 4 for 18 in 4 overs including a maiden. Needing 166 to win, the RCB settled for a pale 123 for 9 only.

RCB was off to a terrible start with runs just not coming and Chris Gayle departing in the 4th over at 8 for 2. Virat Kohli and AB de Villiers departed cheaply as well making it 25 for 4 in 7.2 overs. It was match over from that point and the game was just dragged on with RCB going nowhere. Balaji got the Man of the Match for his superb bowling efforts.

Gambhir, Bisla help KKR to 165 for 8

Gautam GambhirKolkata Knight Riders have given themselves a good chance of beating RCB by posting a competitive total of 165 for 8. Skipper Gautam Gambhir led from the front with an aggressive knock of 64 from 39 balls with 9 fours and a six. Gambhir got useful support from Manvinder Bisla who struck 46 from 29 balls with 2 fours and 3 sixes.

The visitors would have got plenty of more runs from a strong position of 125 for 2 in 13.3 overs but simply lost their way towards the end! R Vinay Kumar was the key for the RCB as he got super figures of 2 for 18 in 4 overs.

Toss and Teams: Hosts Royal Challengers Bangalore have won the toss and asked Kolkata Knight Riders to bat first in hot conditions at Bengaluru. The big news for the homeside is that Chris Gayle is fit and ready to play for them. KKR have made a couple of big changes with Brendon McCullum and Sunil Narine making way for Shakib Al Hasan and Ryan ten Doeschate.

Royal Challengers Bangalore: CH Gayle, V Kohli, SS Tiwary, MA Agarwal, DL Vettori (Captain), AB de Villiers (Wicket Keeper), R Vinay Kumar, CA Pujara, Z Khan, HV Patel, M Muralitharan

Kolkata Knight Riders: JH Kallis, MS Bisla (Wicket Keeper), G Gambhir (Captain), MK Tiwary, YK Pathan, RN ten Doeschate, Shakib Al Hasan, LR Shukla, R Bhatia, B Lee, L Balaji

Related News