Who Will Be next to Reach Notable Half-century for England?

Published on: Nov 08, 2021

England’s progress in white ball cricket over recent years has allowed them to become World Cup winners in the 50-over format and serious contenders for any prizes up for grabs in the 20-over game.

Specialists have been sought, found, and nurtured to the point that struggles of the past – which had a worrying tendency to deliver embarrassment and disappointment – have long been consigned to the memory banks.

Eoin Morgan has led England into a brave new world, one where the square pegs once forced into round holes have been discarded with suitable disdain. Class remains permanent, but form is just as important.

Patience will be shown, with long-term goals chased down with a core group in mind, but there is no longer reluctance to wield the axe and switch things up with the greater good in mind.

Those involved know as much and are aware that certain standards must be maintained in order to remain part of a squad that has already gone places and intends on visiting a few more.

2015 😔

2016 😮

2019 😱 🏆

2021 🤔

It's time for the next chapter...#T20WorldCup | #EnglandCricketpic.twitter.com/hPOoR3x73D

— England Cricket (@englandcricket) October 23, 2021

England now have three very distinct teams, ones set up to deliver success in Test, ODI, and T20 environments, with a few Jacks that fit all trades to be found in the modern game. There are a couple, Ben Stokes, Jofra Archer et al, but blankets are no longer thrown over 11 players in blind hope for the best.

Said approach has delivered rich reward, with competition for places keeping everyone on their toes and lining up a bet for England to win the next World Cup in 2023, where they're currently at odds of 3/1. Milestones are not as easy to reach as they once were, with there no guarantees of selection every time a team sheet goes up on the board.

Who Will Be next to 50 T20 Wickets?

With the shortest format of the game still being relatively new in the grand scheme of things, there are a lot of notable landmarks still to be hit.

England, for example, have no centurions in the wicket-taking department. They will expect someone to get there one day with opportunities aplenty fast approaching. Chris Jordan stands closest to that mark at present as one of only four men to pass 50 – Adil Rashid, Stuart Broad, and Graeme Swann being the others. Behind them, there is a bit of a gap.

Games, though, come thick and fast nowadays, with there plenty of T20 action to be found, and any number of players will have their sights set on being next to a half-century. David Willey and Tom Curran can enhance their claims at the 2021 World Cup, as can Mark Wood and Moeen Ali.

A little further down the list, England talisman Stokes can be expected to build on his current 19-wicket haul, while Archer’s express pace can carry him quickly on from 14 if injuries are avoided and a regular role is earned

With there plenty in the hunt, the race is on to see if another 50 can be added to the record book before Jordan and Rashid start closing in on three figures.