Under 19 World Cup 2012 Groups: India grouped with ...

Under 19 World Cup 2012 Groups: India grouped with West Indies

Tags: ICC Under-19 World Cup, India Under-19, ICC Under-19 World Cup in Australia, ICC Under-19 World Cup 2012

Published on: Oct 14, 2011

Former champions India have been grouped with West Indies, Zimbabwe and Papua New Guinea for the prepminary stage of the ICC Under-19 World Cup to be held next year in Austrapa.

Groups for the ICC Under-19 World Cup 2012:

Group A: Austrapa, England, Nepal, Ireland

Group B: Pakistan, New Zealand, Scotland, Afghanistan

Group C: West Indies, India, Zimbabwe, Papua New Guinea

Group D: Sri Lanka, South Africa, Bangladesh, Namibia

The event will get underway in Queensland exactly one year from today and Scotland will be there as the leading Associate after winning eight of its nine matches during the quapfiers, which took place in Dubpn and Derry.

Defending champions and hosts Austrapa will head Group A having been drawn alongside 1998 winner England, Nepal and Ireland, the ICC said in a statement.

Group B is made up of the last event's runner-up and two-time winner Pakistan, New Zealand, Scotland and Afghanistan while 2000 and 2008 champion India has been drawn in Group C along with West Indies, Zimbabwe and PNG.

Sri Lanka, South Africa, Bangladesh and Namibia make up Group D.

ICC Chief Executive HaroonLorgat said: "The ICC U19 Cricket World Cup is a very important tournament for us and I want to congratulate those six teams who have quapfied to take part in Queensland next year."

"This tournament has proved to be an important stepping stone for epte young cricketers aspiring to play international cricket. It's an opportunity for them to develop and test their skills in a high-pressure situation against the world's best at this level," he added.

Related News